top of page

DIY Tree Legs | Winter Decor Series Pt. 3


Hello Hello Hello!! Part 3 is here! It's finally starting to feel like the winter season here in the midwest! Tuesday it was 70 degrees and finally its currently 37! The chillier weather makes me feel less crazy for having all my christmas decor up already. My excuse was that I needed the tree to display 2 of my 4 winter DIY's (which is true) but I just couldn't wait till the day after Thanksgiving! Hope you enjoy! Happy DIY-ing!

- Em

Want to see the other parts to the winter decor series?

SUBSCRIBE! Subscribe to my blog by email to keep up to date with my weekly post!

 

ITEMS NEEDED :

Toilet Paper Rolls - Can also be bought, I got mine at Michael's

2 Colors of Felt

2 Bells

Stuffing

Dowel Rod

Tape

Decorative String or Ribbon

Scissors

Needle and Thread

Pen

Hot Glue

Paper for Stencil

Box Cutter

STEP 1 : Constructing A Leg

I used 3 pieces of tape and stuck it on the inside of one roll. I then placed the other roll over the tape and used a pen to push down the tape on the inside of the roll.

STEP 2 : Making The Shoes

Start with your piece of paper and draw out a shoe shape you'd like. ( this is the one I chose ) then place on a piece of felt, folded in half, and using a pen trace the shoe shape on to the felt.

Remove and cut the shape out with scissors. Cut a little away from the line to allow room for sewing.

Then separate the 2 pieces and make sure the side with the pen marking is placed to the inside of the shoe.

I doubled up the thread so it would be more prominent and began to stitch the 2 pieces of felt together.

Once the shoe is stitched all the way around tie it off in a knot and begin to stuff the shoe.

To finish off your shoe use hot glue and glue the bell to the toe.

STEP 3 : Striping The Legs

Start by cutting out 7 strips of felt for each leg, 14 in all.

Glue one of the strips over the center line so the leg is secured together and the line is covered.

Then glue a strip of felt to either end of the leg. For the final stripes evenly space 2 strips of felt in between each side.

To make it a little less bland I used decorative string and added another set of stripes in between the felt stripes.

Glue them down and the base of your leg is done!

STEP 4 : Finishing The Leg

Using hot glue, glue the shoe to one end of the leg.

The final step to the tree legs is to cut the dowel rod in half, I used a box cutter, and glue them to the insides of the legs! AND YOU'RE OFFICIALLY DONE! Time to stick them in your tree and enjoy!

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page