top of page

DIY Geometric Trees | Winter Decor Series Pt. 1


Hello all! I seriously can't believe we are in the first week of November! I feel like a year just goes by faster and faster every year. Since it's November and only ONE MONTH until I start my Christmas count down. And to be prepared for one of my most favorite months, I am making winter decor for the month of November just like I did with fall decor is September! So to kick off my winter decor I made these super simple and customizable geometric trees. I hope you enjoy! Happy DIY-ing!

- Em

 

Items Needed :

Foam Core Board - You could try cardboard but I wanted mine to be thick and sturdy

Box Cutter

Paper Grocery Bag - Or any thicker paper for making stencils

Pencil

Scissors

Decorative Craft Paper - 2 different colors

Mod Podge

Hot Glue

Step 1 : Making The Stencil

To make the stencils for the trees I just used a paper bag from the grocery store I shop at. You can make your tree any height, I never measured mine out to a specific height I just cut out a size I thought would be good.

You will then fold the paper in half to make sure corners line up and to begin to cut your tree stencil.

You will then fold your fold your stencil into 3 even parts ( unless you want an uneven tree ) and these will be the marks for each tier of the tree.

Once you have the 3 folds you will cut from one corner to the opposite corner on the other side creating a triangle.

To create the "tree" look you will start from the opening edge of the triangle and slightly cut inward. You can cut as deep as you want to make your tree more angled, as you can see I didn't cut very deep.

You will only cut the bottom 2 tiers the top will be created out of the previous cuts.

AND TAHDAH! Your tree stencil has been made! If you make multiple trees you can create different sizes, which is what I ended up doing to have options when I arrange them.

Step 2 : Cutting Out The Trees

To Create the trees start by laying your stencil on the foam core board and tracing the tree shape on to it, then cut it out.

So the 2 trees inter lock, cut a slit into the tree from the top and on the second tree cut the slit from the bottom allowing enough thickness for how ever thick your foam core board is.

the slits should meet in the middle so one should be half from the top and the other should be half up from the bottom.

Step 3 : Wrapping The Trees

Start by using the mod podge and glueing one side of the tree, then stick it to the decorative craft paper. So all my trees had some unity, one of the two trees is always white.

I then just generally cut around the tree so I didn't have a bunch of excess paper.

To cover the edges of the foam core board I cut a straight line from the inner corner underneath each tier all the way to the edge of the paper so it created 3 flaps. Also make sure to cut out the slits where the 2 trees slide together.

Then using hot glue I glued the edges of the tree and pressed down the paper down around each edge, ultimately wrapping the edge with one consistent piece.

I Then cut away the rest of the excess paper.

For the other side apply mod podge to the uncovered side and stick it down on the piece of paper let dry and cut as close to the edge of the tree as possible.

( These are what both trees finished and wrapped look like apart from each other. )

Step 4 : Put Together

Once you slide the trees together you're done! These are super easy and customizable so if I don't like these colors next year I can easily make new ones!

 


Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page