top of page

Urban Outfitters Pillow $129 • DIYed For $35


HI EVERYONE! Todays DIY came from a deep rooted love I have, Throw Pillows!! I'm always on the hunt for the latest and greatest throw pillow and I found a once in a life time absolutely NEED throw pillow at Urban Outfitters! I look at the price, my heart slightly shattered and my jaw dropped. 129 DOLLARS. ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY NINE DOLLARS. I knew I instantly had to figure out how to DIY it. And I'm proud to say it I did it for $35 :) Enjoy! Happy DIY-ing!

- Em

Picture of the pillow I based my DIY on!

 

Items Needed :

T-shirt - for 18 x 18 pillow insert a L or XL T-shirt is best

Various Yarns

Scissors

Needle & Thread / Sewing Machine

Rug Gripper Pad

Pillow Insert

Step 1 : Making the Face of The Pillow

The yarn will have over hang so I cut a 17 1/2 in. square from the rug gripper pad and began lacing pieces of yarn through the gripper pad.

Then tie the yarn in a knot securing it to the gripper pad.

This is what it will begin to look like. I varied the lengths in yarn to create more texture!

Once completed it will look this!

Step 2 : Creating the T-shirt Cover

Lay the T-shirt out and create a 17 1/2 in square with a little extra around the edge to allow room for sewing.

Cut out the square.

Sew the T-shirt all the way around except leave a decent gap for allowing the insert to be put into the cover.

(Up close of the gap for the insert)

Step 3 : Finishing the Pillow

Put the insert inside the pillow cover to make sure it fits nicely.

Being lazy I left the insert in the pillow and stitched the yarn face to the T-shirt cover, making sure not to sew it to the insert inside.

Stitch the opening where you put the inserted the pillow insert and your pillow is ready to cuddle with and look adorable on your sofa!

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page