top of page

DIY Mason Lid Wreath | Winter Decor Series Pt. 2


Week two is HERE! I can't believe we are almost half way through November all ready. It's only week two but this is so far my most favorite Winter DIY! It started with just wanting a wreath for the holiday season and it slowly progressed into mason jar lids and little hollies made out of bells and I just fell in love! I love DIY's that are super easy to make your own like this wreath it's so easy to wrap it with ribbon instead of the fluffy yarn I used and make it a completely different piece! I hope you love this as much as I do! Happy DIY-ing!

-Em

Check out week 1 | HERE |

 

Step 1 : Items Needed

Mason Jar Lids - You can get packs of just the lids at grocery stores, mine are from target, I suggest 3 packs ( 15 in a pack I believe )

2 Colors of Felt

Any White Yarn - fluffier the better, I wanted mine to look like snow

Red Bells

White Paint

Craft Sponge

Hot Glue

Scissors

Step 2 : Glueing The Lids Together

So every piece of the lid didn't get too messy with hot glue I usually only used a strip of glue about this big to secure it in place initially.

The lids I used for my wreath were open all the way through. I constructed the wreath prior to this to see if it would even work! these are extra lids I had lying around.

Then I would place the Ribbed top of the lid inside the bottom of another and an angle and push down till the hot glue was secure. To make the wreath bigger make sure to stagger some of the lids, some should be secured at an angle at the bottom some at the top. If this is done it makes a zig zag of lids.

Step 3 : Sponging The Wreath

To make it look like there is snow on the wreath I used white paint and a craft sponge. I used only a little dab of paint just like in the picture above and gently sponged the paint on to my wreath.

You can add as much or as little as you want, this is mine once I was done.

Step 4 : Making the Holly

To make the little hollies first cut out a rectangle, you can make this any size you want. I made them a size that was about an inch and a half.

I then cut out a leaf shape with one end straight without a point.

Then taking the straight end I put a dot of hot glue and pinched both sides together.

Alternating light green with dark green, I glued all the ends I had just glued together. Feel free to reverse with 2 light green and 1 dark. I did about an equal amount of both.

To finish off the holly I glued the reed bell to the leaves and then you're set!

Step 5 : Wrapping The Wreath

I used big fluffy yarn to wrap around my wreath to look like snow. I did this to give it depth and also to help further secure the wreath together.

I would wrap the yarn twice around the wreath and if I liked the placement I would glue it in place with the hot glue.

Once your wreath is completely wrapped use an extra bit of yarn and string it through the center of the lids at the point of the wreath you feel is most secure. This will be the part that it hangs from.

Finally your wreath is wrapped and ready for holly!

Step 6 : Gluing Holly

The final step is to glue your hollies onto your wreath!! I tend to glue the holly where it sat nicely in a crack so that it would even FURTHER secure the wreath together, it also helped the holly lay better.

Make sure to stagger them and have them facing different directions so it looks more sporadic and unplanned. and you're DONE! :)

( Final picture of my wreath before it was hung )

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page