top of page

DIY Key Home


HELLO! I am very excited to share this DIY with you all! The story behind this DIY is that I swap from one bag to another on a daily basis. From my school bag, to the bag I take to work, to a bag I'll take to go out with friends. I found myself always digging through bags looking for my keys so I decided they needed a HOME! I had in the past off and on messed around with the idea of making a DIY something with the adorable knobs and hooks they have at Hobby Lobby but didn't want to have to use bolt cutters. With the growing need of a universal home for my keys and not wanting to cut a major piece of metal. I came up with this super easy holder out of a BOX while standing in an aisle in Michael's! Happy DIY-ing!

- Em

 

Items you will need :

Small wooden box - All wood pieces were bought from Michael's

Rounded trim

Wooden Triangle - 1 per house

Wooden Square - 2 per house

Cute Knobs - Mine are from Hobby Lobby

Hot Glue

Paint

Paint brush

Step 1 : Cutting & Drilling

I cut the trim pieces into 3 inch pieces. It won't cut out evenly so don't be afraid to cut them a little long to allow room for sanding them down so the edges are smooth. You will use 3 per house.

Drill a hole in the center, big enough to fit the bolt through that is attached to the knob. To find the perfect center draw lines from one corner to another to create an X.

Step 2 : Roof Construction

Next I began to work on the roof of the Key Home. I hot glued the trim to one end of the square, making sure that the side with the remnants of sticker from the store tag was on the back.

I then attached the triangle to the edge of the square making sure the trim was at the top so I could line up the points. NOTE : The point in the triangle and the point on the trim should line up. There will be a gap for trim at the other end of the square.

Last step for the construction of the roof is to glue the other square to the triangle and add strim to the ends.

( View from the back )

Step 3 : Painting

The last step before you put it all together and hang it is painting! I decided to do a gold roof and only paint the roof. I painted AFTER glueing it all together so that after multiple coats the paint would help make the seams less noticeable.

I also decided to write on the roofs at this point. Without the words it looked a little bare to me! This part is obviously just a suggestion! If you want a key home without words be my guest!

TIP : HOW TO MAKE WORDS CENTERED - To easily center my words without too much effort or thought, I find the center letter. Example - SWEET the center letter is the first E, so I paint that letter first and in the center of the triangle. For words like HOME that have no center letter I put the O and M just to the left and right of the center line then fill in the rest of the letters.

Step 4 : Assembling & Hanging

You've made it! The final step before your keys have a home! all I did was feed the bolt on the back of the knob though the hole and stick the washer on and screw the nut tight to the back! Then put a line of glue on the edge where the bottom of the triangle attaches to the box, and then just glued globs where the trim meets the box in the back.

( view from the back )

ALL DONE! Just hang your key home and ENJOY! :)

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page