top of page

DIY Scarecrow • Fall Decor Series pt. 4 •


Hello DIY-ers! I can't Believe we are in the FINAL days of September! It just flew by so fast and definitely hasn't been feeling like fall in the Midwest where I live. Only in this past week we have finally gotten a consistent cold front. My favorite kind of day is when the high is mid 60s to 70 at an absolute max. BUT. With it being the final week of September that means we are on the final Fall Decor Series! I had so much fun with all these projects and it made the perfect excuse to make some new things for my apartment! This DIY is a Scarecrow made out of a cross stitching circle that I had lying around with no home! hope you enjoy! Happy DIY-ing!

- Em

CHECK OUT THE PREVIOUS PARTS OF THE FALL DECOR SERIES

• Part 1 of Fall Decor Series - DIY Knit Pumpkins! HERE!

• Part 2 of Fall Decor Series - DIY Thankful Sign! HERE!

• Part 3 of Fall Decor Series - DIY Pumpkin Wagon! HERE!

 

First!! These are the supplies you will need to make your Scarecrow.

Burlap or Jute fabric

Hot glue

Jute cord - I found mine at Michael's in the beading cord section

Cross stitch ring - I got mine at Target in the craft section in a set of 2 but you can get them at Michael's as well

Card board - (Not Pictured.) I used a big scrap chunk of card board that I had cut from a project board prior.

Scissors

Box cutter

Paint brushes

Paints - You can choose any color - I used green / orange / white / black / glod

Pencil or Pen - To sketch out your hat

Decorative Leaf - (optional)

Step 1:

Cut out a section of the Burlap or Jute fabric big enough to fit around the cross stitching ring. You will unscrew the metal piece and slip the fabric in between the 2 rings. make sure fabric is taut and doesn't sag in the center.

NOTE: The fabric does stretch after being pulled tight so I let mine sit for awhile while I messed around with the shape of the hat.

Once I'm happy with the fabric I trim excess leaving enough to be able to hot glue it in place. I then set aside the face of the scarecrow and began working on the hat.

Step: 2

To get the size of hat I wanted and to create dimension I cut the hat into 2 parts. One is the brim of the hat and the second is the top of the hat. I suggest you use a box cutter instead of scissors so that it doesn't mash down the cardboard.

Step: 3

Now it's time to paint your hat! You can paint it what ever color you want obviously, I went with green. If your card board is brown like most cardboard I suggest you paint it white then once the white is dry, apply the color you want the hat to be over the top. that way you get a true color.

To get the texture my hat has in the image above I just used a larger paint brush and dabbed or doted on a lighter green to give the textured look. You don't want the brush filled with paint a little will go along way. You could also use a sponge if you have one.

Step: 4

Hair! Most scarecrows I see have some form of "hair" usually made from a straw. I didn't want to mess with finding straw so I used Jute cord. I used about 8 strands of cord on each side. Each strand was about 8 inches.

I secured the strands of hair with hot glue to the back of the hat. I glued them next to each other instead of in one big clump so it would look fuller without having a whole bunch of strands.

Step: 5

Once the hot glued hair was cooled I flipped the hat over and adjusted it till I liked the placement. I then hot glued the hat in place and moved on to painting the face.

Step: 6

You could paint your face many ways! if you don't like the face I painted (pictured in the cover photo) a quick trip to google can give you great ideas!

 


Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page