top of page

DIY Pumpkin Wagon • Fall Decor Series pt. 3 •


Installment 3 of my fall decor series is here! I surprising fell loved this piece! I thought it would just be a cute idea and others might like it but It looks adorable in my apartment! I also love it because it has endless possibilities! I could swap it out and fill it with something else for the Holiday season! Its a super easy DIY and half the time is spent waiting for things to dry! hope you like it annnndd Happy DIY-ing!

• Wanna see Fall Decor Series part 1? Here!

• How about Fall Decor Series par 2? Here!

- Em

 

Items Needed :

Box or Crate - for the main part of the wagon, I got mine from Michael's

Wooden Rounds - for the wheels, also from Michael's

Buttons - for the center of the wheel to add detail

Fake Pumpkins - I chose fake! you could use real ones if wanted!

Burlap - (optional) I bought a roll but you could buy it by the yard or any fabric.

Paints / Paint Brushes - (optional) Colors for buttons and pumpkins if you want them painted

Hot Glue

Step 1 :

I started off by painting the buttons that will go on the wheel gold, an accent color in my apartment. You can choose any color!

Step 2 :

After the buttons were dry I glued them to the wheels using hot glue.

Step 3 :

I waited a day to make sure that the painted buttons were totally dry since the buttons are plastic and I used acrylic paint on them they will be a little more temperamental. They do make spray paint specially for plastic but I didn't want to go to the trouble of purchasing it so i made do with what I had! While waiting a day I painted the pumpkins!

Painting pumpkins :

I started by painting the pumpkins white so I had a clean slate and could paint them any color and not worry about orange showing through. Again - I painted with acrylic on plastic so it is more effort but its cheaper than buying a million spray paints if you want different colored pumpkins like I did. TIP - Surprisingly, the cheap acrylic craft smart that you can get a tall bottle for $3 at Michael's left it with a very matte (almost chalky) finish that made a nice base when it was time to paint color over it.

( Pumpkins after being painted )

Step 4 :

( View one )

( View two )

The last piece to the DIY was to glue on the wheels! I decided to glue them so they were even with the bottom of the crate so I didn't have to worry about getting them all leveled, to ensure that the wagon wasn't crooked. That part is up to your discretion and preference on whether you want the bottom of your wagon to touch the ground or be free standing!

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page