top of page

DIY Knit Pumpkins • Fall Decor Series Pt.1•


It's the start of that time of year! It's OFFICIALLY fall, AKA September! Fall is my favorite time of year especially since I live in the Midwest. All the muggy weather is gone and is replaced with cool breezes just cool enough to wear layers, cute boots and scarves. BUT not so cold you have to wear a full on winter coat!

I decorate for Fall. In only the few years of living on my own I have yet to decorate solely for Halloween. I decorate for Fall because I can put it up in September and leave it up till Thanksgiving (the day after Thanksgiving is the day I put up my Christmas tree). I love Halloween but I don't see the thrill in making all the decor to only leave it up for 4 weeks! SO I'm making a 4 part series on what Fall decor I'll be making this year throughout the month of September! Happy DIY-ing!

- Em

 

DIY Knit Pumpkins ( no sewing no knitting )

I have absolutely fallen IN LOVE with these pumpkins! They took me maybe 10 minutes a piece to make and they are so adorable! I see knit or fabric pumpkins in stores everywhere and I see sewing or knitting patterns online all the time. BUT I don't have the time to sit down and knit that much or - due to no sewing machine - sew it by hand. So while being bummed about not getting to have adorable knit pumpkins that don't cost a fortune or take a century to make an idea popped in my head. And sooooo I made them out of leg warmers. ;)

Items needed :

Leg warmers! - You automatically get 2 and they can be cheap! Mine are off Amazon.

Stuffing

Wire - I used copper wire so it would show better and it's easier to bend than silver

String

Wire Cutters

Scissors

The 1st step is to turn the leg warmer inside out and then tied the string on end that I want to be the bottom. Then flip it right side out.

2nd step is to stuff the leg warmer to desired stuffed-ness and begin wrapping the wire around the left over top which will be the stem of the pumpkin.

( Finished wire wrapped stem )

3rd step is to cut 2 pieces of wire to desired length (too much is better than not enough) these will be the curly pieces that come from the stem of the pumpkin

4th step take a pice of wire and some what fold it in half to the find center. cross the ends so it will stay on the pumpkin

( After one set of curls )

Tahhh Dahhhh! After 2 sets of curls its finished and you have an adorable DIY knit pumpkin! This is the first part of a four part series being posted every Monday during the month of September!

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page