top of page

Decor DIY for $35

Decor - one of my favorite things on this earth! But it's detrimental for my bank account. Decor pieces can be so overpriced and usually you're lucky if you can get 2 pieces for $35 dollars. I was determined to stretch those bills as far as they would allow me, and I was so pleased with the outcome! I went into this DIY fairly blindly. I had a general idea that I wanted to use books and the pine cones I had been collecting from the big pine trees that surround my apartment. The gravy boat plant holder came about because I had the pieces in a big mason jar terrarium. The terrarium was in MAJOR need of a revamp! The DIY's that happen on a whim always seem to turn out the best annnnnd thus this DIY for $35 was born!

- Em

 

The first DIY we will star with is the color coordinated books and the pinecone book ends! They don't have to be used this way, the pine cone jars can just be a decorative piece sitting out on its own. Same with the books they can be used underneath a piece to give it some height like in the picture above! Its just a great way to tie a color theme into a room and the pine cones add some texture.

Listed and pictured bellow are all the things you will need for this first DIY and where to potentially buy them for cheap!

Used books that match your color scheme | TOTAL : $11

Pine cones - literally found just steps outside my home | TOTAL : Freeee!!

Glass containers | TOTAL : $8

These books were bought from a half price book store for $1-$2! Major steal when all they are going to do is sit there and look pretty! I didn't buy them based on title what so ever ( disclaimer ) only bought them based on color of their hard cover I didn't even look at titles!

 

• I used pine cones found around the pine trees near my apartment! SO, totally free!

• I put a small glob of white acrylic paint on paint palette and just dipped the ends of the pine cone in the paint!

• Bam! White tipped pine cones that add a pop of color to the piece!

The pinecones can be left plain or you can add the color its up to you!

 

The glass jars were purchased at a store called At Home for $4. At Home is one of my all time favorite decor stores, I could spend DAYS in this store walking down every aisle looking at everything and their amazing deals!

 

The second DIY is my succulents in a gravy boat! This DIY was very much a shot in the dark. I had the pieces in another terrarium, but in my last move it had gotten jostled and messed up. I haven't been happy with it since and just stuck it up in a closet. All the pieces used were really cheap so I thought it would be a perfect fit for this DIY! I was then on the hunt for something to hold the succulent pieces. I almost settled for something else I had found at At Home but SOO happy i found this in the clearance aisle!

Listed bellow are all the things you need to create this interesting twist on a home for succulents!

 

Succulent pieces | TOTAL : $5

Gravy boat | TOTAL : $5

Sand | TOTAL : $3

I bought the gravy boat at At Home for $5 dollars in the clearance section, it originally $10! I the sand in the jar had coffee beans in it as well but the only thing you need is sand and you can get decorative sand from Michaels or even for free from somewhere outside! The fake succulent pieces came in an arrangement that I got on sale from Gordmans. I broke up the arrangement so I could make it how I wanted to! But pieces like this can be bought at Michaels or Target or maybe you can find an arrangement to break up like I did from somewhere like Gordmans or At Home!

FINALLY. The only major step for this DIY is how full I filled it. I filled the sand coffee bean mixture to just bellow the rim of the gravy boat and this is so the succulent pieces don't sink into the gravy boat and disappear!

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page