top of page

My Guide to Decorating on A BUDGET.


When it comes to decorating ( ESPECIALLY a new place ) I want it to pretty much be decorated all in one go and right away. This is mostly due to the fact that I've moved every year for the last 3 years. I don't have time to get one nice piece every so often if I ever want my apartments to feel like home! My taste is ever changing and is even different than it was a year ago. Going out and dropping a lot of money on something I can't guarantee I'll like 9 months from now is not a safe game to play with my wallet. So I've learned to adapt in the realm I'm currently living in and through the power of trial and error I'm pretty confident in my hacks of where to shop at when decorating on a budget. Happy decorating!

- Em

 

I shop at certain places and stores for certain things! I have a go to place for pillows and a place for candles (my obsession), a place for lamps, a place for furniture, and even a place for plants!

We will start with the store that I give probably a good chunk of my fun money to

Target is a one stop shop for anything decor and home essential. I buy decor pieces here and there from target but usually target is where I pick up things like :

• Dishes and silverware - anything in the kitchen is all from target.

Rugs

Bath decor - i.e. tooth brush holder, soap dispenser, towels

• Storage and shelving

I know I'm not alone in my love for Target! there are things that target sells that I've found like pieces at other stores for cheaper, but all around target is so easy and one stop shopping (and good quality) if you don't want to hunt for those deals as hard as I do!

At Home ( Garden Ridge)

At Home and I have a love hate relationship. I love it because it's literally endless and has EVERYTHING. I hate it because I walk in and all of a sudden when I walk out it's 2 and 1/2 hours later and it felt like I spent maybe 20 mins in there. It's a time warp.

Wall decor

Pillows

Lamps

Any seasonal decor

Of all the stores in this post, At Home is one of the most inexpensive. Sometimes the quality is what you pay for. BUT with something like accent pillows, I end up change them out every so often or a new style comes out that I MUST have so it doesn't matter. Quality is hit and miss but their selection is ENDLESS and if you're like me where you definitely will want something different in a year or two (sometimes for me I feel like I change my mind every month) this is your store!

Home goods. The store that started my bargain hunting addiction. I compare home goods to a TJmaxx or a Marshall's. Higher end brands for way cheaper than they are originally worth. When you go there it's always different and sometimes their accent furniture pieces are amazing and the next their decor pieces will be the best.

Everything?

I have no specific thing I go to Home Goods for. But it's probably my favorite store to find a great deal or a perfect piece in.

Overstock is my go to for furniture that I've needed for my apartment for cheap. Free shipping on anything over $45... That just blows my mind when I think about pieces I've bought from them and how big, heavy and how much of a pain in the butt they probably were to ship!

Furniture

In all honesty I don't think I've ever looked at anything except their furniture pieces. Currently my feet are resting on a coffee table I bought from Overstock and the TV that's playing in the background is sitting on an entertainment center bought froooomm.. you guessed it Overstock! same goes to my kitchen table and the desk in my bedroom.

Gordmans has a good selection of decor pieces that can sit out on a table or up on a bookshelf. In my Gordmans they even organize by color, so if I'm looking for a specific color for me or even a gift for someone else it's easy to find!

Frames

CANDLES

Decor pieces and accents

Candles, candles, candles, CANDLES. If I need a new candle in my life you can bet money that you will find me in Gordmans. Candles are my decor secret because a scent can really make a room. Warm and cozy room? vanilla, pumpkin spice, or teakwood. fresh and summery room? fresh linen, anything floral, or fruity. Also they have Yankee (as well as other brands) for half off at all times so if that doesn't sell you on it I don't know what will.

Last but most certainly not least is Hobby Lobby, the holy grail of sales. In the decor world Hobby Lobby really only sell decor or accent pieces. BUT they have the BEST SALES EVER. I swear I will go one month and there will be a new display or decor on display and the next it's all on sale for 50% off!! They also send me So. Many. 40% off. Coupons!! That's definitely how they keep me coming back, is all the sales and coupons!

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page