top of page

• EASY • DIY Coaster

Of all the DIY's I have done in my life these coasters are probably one of the cheapest, easiest and most practical. I LOVE these coasters and use them every day. They can be personalized when it comes to size and color which is so important for someone like me that can never fully commit to a single color pallet. :) These coasters are so perfect for that pop of color and don't cost a fortune to replace when you decide to move on to the next! Hope you enjoy them as much as I do! Happy DIY-ing!

- Em

 

To start any DIY we need everything to create it! In the image bellow are all the things I use to make these coasters!

Scissors

String - called Jute Cord - I bought mine from Michaels in the beads and jewelry making section

Tacky glue - I buy any kind that says that it's "quick drying"

Acrylic paint - In any color you'd like! I had this paint on hand but you don't need this much a little bottle will be plenty

A paint brush

To start the coaster you will need the string and glue. You will apply the glue to the end of the string and fold it onto itself. Continue to apply the glue around the wound string and watch the tiny circle grow into a coaster like seen bellow!

Tips and ideas on painting your coasters :

when it comes to painting your coaster I suggest acrylic paint. Due to the fact that once it dries it becomes a plastic and wont break down if your drink sweats and the coaster becomes damp. For the coasters I'm currently using I have them only half painted, I have fully painted them and I see no difference minus stiffness. the fully painted coaster is slightly stiffer but not enough for it to make much of a difference. Stripe them, polkadot them, only paint half, paint the whole thing, or even nothing at all! That is where your personal touch is added!

Bellow is a picture of the 3 different colors I used to create my current set of coasters!

 

Liking what you see? ;)

Then check out some of my other posts listed below!

• recent posts•

bottom of page